Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
736 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm rather new to extensive reading in fiction, I'd love any Kindle book or author recommendations based on my interests below.  (Prior to my Kindle, I read mostly nonfiction and have since become entranced by fiction!) 

I have a major in History with a concentration of my studies in western U.S. cultural history of the 19th century.  My nonfiction reading since college has largely been this same subject with a particular interest in pioneer passages, native American Indians, the settlement of historic towns, etc.  I recently read a couple of Jim Fergus' books and enjoyed them and will be starting the Sarah Agnes Prine novels by Nancy Turner after the book I'm currently reading.

One of my favorite things to do when traveling the West is to visit ghost towns, historic settlement towns, tours of historic homes, etc.  I love engrossing myself in the history of an old western town, so much so that I must very old cemeteries (prior to the early 1900s), visit local museums, stay overnight in historic B&Bs, etc.  Yes, tour old cemeteries.  No, I don't have an interest in the dead, only the history behind the town and its people, and cemeteries and local genealogy are often very telling in this regard.  I know.....this seems strange to many people, but really I am normal :)

If you can think of any, I'd love any book or author recommendations in Kindle fiction.  Thanks!

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Here are some I enjoyed that you might not otherwise find. Celia Hayes does meticulously accurate research, down to the layouts of the houses and streets. Marva Dasef's book is based on stories of her grandfather.

and

and also, by a different author,

Best!
Al
aka BrassMan, the Distant Cousin guy

·
Registered
736 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·