Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in 2010 when I was hacking together my first book (actually intended to be a pamphlet), I was a true noob. I'd never been on Amazon before in my life. Other than a few news articles about it being a huge book store, I had zero clue.

While I was a greenhorn book-wise, I wasn't without basic business skills. I had put together a marketing plan before the title was finished.

Now, this is going to look odd to many of you. Perhaps the word "odd" is even being kind. But, to this day, I have maintained most of my original thinking on the subject.

Please keep in mind, this was an instruction guide:

1. My average customer isn't a book hound, or even a voracious reader. I need to bring non-readers to the book, so traditional book marketing won't work.

2. My book will be extremely controversial, much like the Anarchist's Cookbook. My cover and title should make the customer feel like they're getting ready to eat forbidden fruit.

3. I want potential readers to understand my instruction is from the real world. I want it gritty. Dirt. Mud. Blood. Guts. Pain. I want them to perceive that it came from my heart and experience, not some polished-up, sterilized crap from a big name publisher.

4. I want the potential reader to believe than any old "Joe Nobody" can implement the contents. (I was writing it "down" for the general public, but I didn't want them to know that. It was a field manual for middle-aged, overweight, poorly conditioned individuals. Typical Americans, if you will.)

Do you see the difference? Now days, most indies try to focus their marketing on people who read tons of books. (Bookbub for example) And I admit I do some of the same.