Kindle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about getting Lasik for myself, but I'm nervous about the recovery time.  I write web content for a living and even though I have some financial padding saved up, it's not a huge amount.  I can't take, say, a month off of working.  So for anyone here who has gotten Lasik:

How long was it until your eyes healed enough that you could stare at a screen and type for a Pomodoro/half hour at a time?
How long until you felt like your eyes were completely recovered and you could watch the screen for hours straight?
Did you notice any blurring vision, distortions at night, etc? I know that some people who have gotten the procedure can't drive after dark because they see halos of light, and as a night owl I do a lot of my writing at night, so ... nervous about that, too.
Finally, are you happy with your vision, post-surgery?  Would you go through Lasik again?

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,216 Posts
I had LASIK a few years ago. I went back to work day two and I was back to writing at my normal rate after a few days. Unless you have a complication, you shouldn't have any trouble getting back to work.

I'm really happy I had the procedure, but it's not without side effects. My eyes are dryer now and I have some mild night vision issues (slightly worse than what I had with glasses, some halos, blurring of lights, and loss of contrast sensitivity) but nothing serious. I do wear computer glasses (not Rx tinted lenses) when I work, which really helps my eyes relax in front of a screen.

·
Registered
2,407 Posts
EllieDee said:
I'm thinking about getting Lasik for myself, but I'm nervous about the recovery time. I write web content for a living and even though I have some financial padding saved up, it's not a huge amount. I can't take, say, a month off of working. So for anyone here who has gotten Lasik: