Kindle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
I've only recently launched my author site and at the moment it's loking a bit generic so i've had a few ideas and would love some feedback from kboarders with their own author sites.
I'm a horror/thriller writer so I've been toying with the idea of making my site a little more creepier, for example here are some ideas I had
* A header image of the grim reaper, writing on parchment with a quill, illuminated by a candle with the line "Michael J Elliott, writing stories from the dark realm"
* A dark background featuring a full moon or some other sinister look.
* A photo of me holding a skull (plastic of course) with a knowing smile.
These are just a couple of my ideas but since I'm new to talking about myself, I'm just wondering whether my ideas are too OTT or whether my readers (and those who check me out) may appreciate the sinister tie in with my books.
Any feedback would be great, also if noone finds my "scarey" theme appropriate, could you please provide some ideas about how to make the site look less bland?
Thank you
KBoarders rock! :D

·
Registered
483 Posts
While it's fine to make your design fit your style, keep in mind that most people come to a website looking for information--so whatever you do, don't make the information difficult to find or read. (For example, a dark background is fine, but where the text is should be a lighter background with dark text--far easier to read.)

·
Registered
692 Posts
I don't think you need to go overboard, but right now it does look like a generic wordpress template. Have you looked at other horror author sites to see what they do? Steal from the best, I say. Find author sites that you like and rip them off shamelessly.

One thing I advise against is a black background with white writing. I used to think those stories about it being hard to read were BS, but now I find myself squinting whenever I hit one of those sites.

·