Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
More and more I'm hearing from people that they are "reading" my books on audio.  It seems like this format is really gaining momentum - does anyone else see this trend?  What are people's own personal experiences with audio?

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
I haven't put anything on audio yet (I am waiting until after I get my current novella published), but I've been listening to audio books for almost twenty years (11 years at a mind crushing office job, the rest as a truck driver). I love them.

·
Registered
2,947 Posts
I am doing a 3-book series with each book capable of being a complete stand-alone. Book 1 is only about 82,000 words, book 2 will be slightly longer, and the length of book 3 remains unknown right now. I have considered waiting and doing all 3 as a single audio. This would be quite long and, therefore, expensive. Is this a good idea or a bad one? Is there a length that is actually too short?

·
Registered
925 Posts
I'm in the process of having my first put into audio over on ACX. It's a very exciting (and daunting) format to work in. As with anything, there are folks that swear by the format. Personally, I was a huge fan of the Harry Potter audiobooks (US version), but they spoiled me to others. I still prefer to read books on my own, but if I found myself having a long commute again, I'd probably buy more.

On a side note, does anyone know how they go about pricing audiobooks created through ACX? 

·
Registered
50 Posts
S.A. Mulraney said:
I'm in the process of having my first put into audio over on ACX. It's a very exciting (and daunting) format to work in. As with anything, there are folks that swear by the format. Personally, I was a huge fan of the Harry Potter audiobooks (US version), but they spoiled me to others. I still prefer to read books on my own, but if I found myself having a long commute again, I'd probably buy more.