Kindle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wondering if anyone has any wisdom they can offer me on the best pricing (and marketing) for literary fiction.

It seems that pricing affects different genres in different ways. Literary Fiction readers seem pickier to me... suspicious of low pricing, but I wonder what experiences people have had.

I'm pretty new at the Indie Publishing game.

G

·
Literary fiction readers really are not concerned with price like genre readers. Look at the current Amazon bestseller list for literary fiction. The majority of books are $7.99-$12.99. The problem with reaching literary readers is not price. It is finding them. They don't shop like genre readers. Horror, sci fi, romance, fantasy fans...they tend to have active online communities and hunt down books. Literary readers are a lot more conservative. They don't "take chances" based on low price. They rely on third party reviews (not customer reviews on Amazon), media buzz, and word of mouth.

You need to look at more traditional marketing outlets to find these people. Advertising in literary magazines, for example, is a better option than buying banners at a Kindle Cheap Reads site. It costs more, but that is where the literary readers are. If you have an engaging personal story, you might try information releases with a strong human interest angle to send to newspaper "Books" editors. Women read more literary fiction than men, so also consider advertising on womencentric sites like Bellaonline.com (which was very high quality traffic when we first released Foot Ways, which is a literary spec fiction novella).

·
Registered
2,598 Posts
Yes, Julie, thanks from me for that too.  I think the sales of my lone literary title will be in the double digits regardless of price.  Re advertising in literary magazines...  Julie, any suggestions on that? 
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,337 Posts