Kindle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning a kindle countdown promo and, as always, have received some good advice on another thread from the Writers' Cafe about the deficiencies in my cover and blurb. I'm always grateful for feedback, even if it might sting a bit ;) - however, the thought occurred to me that what a science fiction or romance author may feel is important may not necessarily work for my chosen genre, historical fiction.

To me, an historical fiction reader would be more interested in the blurb identifying which period and what circumstances the story is about than how attractive the cover is. Having said that I also admit I'm a complete newbie and could be completely off track with this thought.

I love some ideas from other historical fiction authors about what their experiences with promotions have been. Do you feel the cover or blurb worked best for you ?

While I'm in the begging mode :-[ I'd also really appreciate any thoughts on my blurb:

Patrick's Journey is an historical fiction novel based on the real life history of one of Australia's early convict settlers. It could be described as simply an entertaining "romance/adventure" novel, but the story goes deeper than that. The "Journey" in the story is twofold, there is the physical journey from one mode of existence in Ireland to a completely different one in Australia and the emotional/spiritual journey that accompanies such drastic changes in Patrick's world.