Kindle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
873 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(now updated the March 1st - apologies for the poor formatting; I hope you can read it okay)

I launched my second novel this week, and while I have absolutely researched the market and I know with 100% certainty I don't have enough of a list to be thinking about pushing myself as a full time author, I still have an ego to consider. I spent a day a couple of weeks ago putting a small, fairly cheap, cabal of promotional sites for both titles, hoping one will feed the other. Even though it is, strictly-speaking, meaningless, seeing rankings creep up is always a boost.

My first novel, His First His Second did better than I expected, and while my second, Three Years Dead, is set in the same story-world it isn't a direct sequel. Maybe a mistake, but I'm playing the long game. Within 5 years I aim to have two continuing series with a smattering of stand-alones.

His First His Second has a handful of reviews, so I can only get that one in the big places (not enough for Bookbub of course) then hope those who buy it spot that my second novel is also on offer. Three Years Dead has made it into some of the more affordable sites, plus a couple of new release categories.

Both are £1GBP or $0.99US until March 15.

His First His Second: Opening Rank (UK); 166,852 (US) 367,486
Three Years Dead: Opening Rank (UK); 538,359 (US) 1,525,009

Notes: currently HFHS is selling very low numbers but has occasional zeros days I have done zero promos since December, concentrating on my writing instead, so I can only assume it is coming in through also-boughts.

Sales are for Amazon unless otherwise noted.

Feb 26th HFHS - Choosy Bookworm premium listing

His First His Second: UK sales 2 Ranking #159,679 / US sales 43 Ranking 5,975

Three Years Dead: UK sales 1 (plus several pre-orders) / US sales 2 -- not worth talking about ranking

+ 2 Kobo sales

Feb 27th TYD Booktastick