Kindle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
325 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Some background on me. I'm not a prolific writer. It takes me a few years to write a book part-time. I just launched my fourth novel, The Last Cabin Girl, for 99 cents on March 23rd. I enrolled it in Kindle Select. It could be considered fourth in a series or the first of a series. It can also be read as a standalone.

I have witnessed the big ebook pubIishers launch their books at 99 cents and keep them at that price point. I have tried to replicate their success with my marginal mailing list and advertising. I promoted my book with the usual suspects the first week usually one per day: Robin Reads, Bargain Booksy, ENT, Fussy Librarian. Then I handed the baton to BookBub ads and most of my 99 cent sales have come from those ads since then.

My page reads have steadily climbed, eclipsing 9K yesterday for the first time for this one book. (See image below). I have never gotten anywhere close to 9k of page reads per day for one book since I began writing in 2014. My best day prior to this may have been 2300 or so.

I'm trying to figure out what to do next in my promotional efforts (continue, cancel, something in between) and one of the things that elusive to me is how high can daily page reads can go and for how long can it last. I have no idea what Amazon bestsellers do in page reads for each book.

So I thought I'd ask my fellow authors to share some data.

I guess the first thing to ask is what genre do you write in?

And then ask:

What the highest page reads you got on a given day for a single book?

What's the highest page reads in a month you've gotten for a single book?

What's the highest page reads you've gotten in a year in a single book?

For me it's:

Thrillers
118k (See image. It's been almost one month now)
281k (Another book). (So in one month running now, I've done 42% of what my best book did in one year).