Kindle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there :) I'm new to the Forum by way working on self publishing my first few Books & i'm a Web developer by day, so i've recently been doing some sites for Self Published Authors, and it's an exciting world i've discovered! I didn't realise there was such a vibrant, passionate community!

Anyway, i'm a HUGE fan of pulpy & strange Science Fiction. Think Doc Savage, Flash Gordon,E.R Burroughs, RE Howard etc. Can anyone point me to or recommend some series or one offs that i would enjoy. I'm overwhelmed by the amount of SF out there, and i'm looking for something in the aforementioned vein!

Also, im a huge fan of the weirder SF stuff like Jeff Noon, Jeff VanderMeer etc, yet again, any recommendations?

Thanks!

·
Registered
559 Posts
I would put Michael Moorcock in that category. Always enjoyed his stuff, my fav was probably the Hawkmoon books, which I would definetely say were a little "weird".  But having said that I enjoy his writing a lot.

·
Registered
12,722 Posts
My thoughts were Frank Herbert and L. Ron Hubbard.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
gljones said:
I would put Michael Moorcock in that category. Always enjoyed his stuff, my fav was probably the Hawkmoon books, which I would definetely say were a little "weird". But having said that I enjoy his writing a lot.
I love Moorcock :) Especially the Hawkmoon series. Anything in that vein would be great. I loved his Jerry Cornelius books too, but unfortunately i don't have my battered paperbacks anymore & they've yet to be released electronically :(

·
Registered
559 Posts
cinisajoy said:
My thoughts were Frank Herbert and L. Ron Hubbard.
Frank's stuff got weirder and weirder the farther you got into the Dune books. Then I would say the last of his books in the series "Chapterhouse Dune" was less weird than the others.

Never got into L. Ron Hubbard

·
Registered
559 Posts
Steveb0t said: