Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the Kindle and loving it. Question: If I obtain books from other sources, other than downloading from Amazon, can I archive them as if I had bought them from Amazon?

Thanks,

Jason

·
Registered
3,209 Posts
Yep, the Amazon archive is only for books downloaded through the Kindle store.

As noted, you can back them up on the computer by hooking the Kindle up via USB.  You can simply drag and drop the non-Kindle books somewhere, or you can use a program like Calibre to back them up and organize your e-book library.

·
Registered
951 Posts
Non-amazon books cannot be added to your archives but you can download calibre and organize your books on it.  It is pretty much as easy as Amazon's archive system.  With the program you can either have the books emailed to your device or hook it up to your computer with the USB cord and press the "send to device button."

·
Registered
379 Posts
When you email it to the pay email, don't they keep a copy on their server or did I hear wrong?

What I did was set up a dropbox. I put all my non-Amazon books on it and download them via wifi (don't use the 3G for stuff like that)

·
Registered
5,087 Posts
Sporadic said:
When you email it to the pay email, don't they keep a copy on their server or did I hear wrong?
Highly unlikely, it's probably purged the moment the successful transmission is acknowledged. In any event, there's no way for you to get to it.

Mike

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·