Kindle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, everyone.

I am a new author, finishing a novella, which will probably be about 30,000 words. The genre is what might be called science fiction/time travel/political thriller. In brief, a soldier is sent from a post-apocalyptic future, a century from now, on a mission to the present, to kill the man responsible for causing the apocalypse, thus preventing it and altering the timeline.

I am willing to pay for an original design (rather than a pre-made or stock image). Can someone recommend a good cover artist for the genre?

Thanks.

·
Registered
583 Posts
GSB, check out covers that are successful on Amazon in your genre. Look at the ones that catch your eye, then research who created the cover. But I wouldn't just grab a cover artist that a particular author likes and uses. Why? Here's what's weird about cover artists. An incredible artist might not fit your genre or writing. A great cover might not sell your book.

Do you want an illustration, stock photo, or just typography?? What's your budget? Maybe you want to create the cover yourself? It all depends on your project.

I found a recent artist from a BookBub promo. No joke. I loved his art and contacted him.

Research is the best way. Like everything else in Indie publishing, it all takes research and work.

All that being said, some authors list artists that work well for them on their website. Check out the cover artist lists by Derek Murphy and, our own Kboarder, C Gold. I have.

Good luck!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
--GSB, check out covers that are successful on Amazon in your genre. Look at the ones that catch your eye, then research who created the cover.

Where is that information available?