Kindle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started reading Caught Stealing by Charlie Huston yesterday.  The book pulled me right in and I didn't stop until I was about half way through it.

BUT.

The scene with the cat?  I think that is quite possibly the. most. traumatic. thing. i. have. EVER. read.

And I couldn't stop reading it, because I had to find out if the cat was going to be okay.  Also, a testament to the author's ability as a writer, my kidneys hurt the whole time I was reading.

Has anyone else read the other two books in the trilogy?  Are they as graphic?  I can handle violence, but reading this book, well, it's something else.  I'll finish it, but I don't know if I can put myself through that again.

·
Registered
5,384 Posts
I agree with you Veronica, there is an old thread on KB about this book and Bud. I too was traumatized by it, any animal lover would be. I enjoyed the book but too much foul language for me. I don't mind some but nor every other word. It was a freebie but I chose not to read the other two.

·
Registered
364 Posts
So I'm guessing the cat turned out okay???

I once was reading a book by a friend of mine and there was a dog in it.  I somehow got a bad feeling about the dog, so I put down the book and emailed her, asking if she was going to kill the dog.  She emailed back, "Would *I* kill a dog?!?!?!?"

I finished the book.  :)

Sharyn

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
I loved Bud! I have only read the first two so far but I did enjoy them. Do what you want to all those people but leave Bud alone!

Melissa

·
Registered
124 Posts
The first half of the first book I wasn't sure I was going to be able to take all the drug and alcohol-fueled violence.  I got over it, and LOVED the entire trilogy.

Then again, I also loved The Heroin Diaries by Nikki Sixx - so maybe you can't go by my taste!

·
Registered
5,384 Posts
Neekeebee said: