Kindle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·


My book "Child of the Ghosts" is inspired by the series of four (soon to be five) short stories I wrote for Marion Zimmer Bradley's "Sword & Sorceress" anthology over the last few years. It's also now available for free on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Child-of-the-Ghosts-ebook/dp/B0052Q9WFQ

Barnes & Noble:

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Child-of-the-Ghosts/Jonathan-Moeller/e/2940012589194

Smashwords:

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/62101

You can read the first chapter of "Child of the Ghosts" here:

http://www.jonathanmoeller.com/writer/?page_id=1060

And here's the official book description:

For fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley's "Sword & Sorceress", Tamora Pierce, Robin McKinley, and Jennifer Roberson, here is a new story of a woman's fight against an ancient evil.

When her life is torn apart by sorcery and murder, young Caina Amalas joins the Ghosts, the legendary spies and assassins of the Emperor of Nighmar. She learns the secrets of disguise and stealth, of assassination and infiltration.

But even that might not be enough to save her.

For the evil that destroyed her family seeks to devour the entire world...
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
67,346 Posts
Welcome to KindleBoards, Jonathan, and congratulations on your book!

(If you've gotten this welcome before, it's just as a matter of housekeeping. We like to put a copy of the "welcome letter" in each book thread. It doesn't mean you've done anything wrong, it just helps us know that you know the rules.)

A brief recap of our rules follows:

--We invite you to use your book cover as your avatar and have links to your book and website in your signature. Instructions are posted here

--Please bookmark this thread (using your browser's bookmark/favorite function) so you can update it as we ask that authors have only one thread per book and add to it when there is more information. You may start a separate thread for each book (or you may have one thread per series of books, or one thread for all of your books, it's your choice).

--While you may respond to member posts to your thread at any time, you may only bump your thread (back-to-back posts by you) once every seven days. Once you've responded to a member, that resets the clock to zero and you must wait seven days to post, unless another member posts before then.

--We ask that Amazon reviews not be repeated here as they are easy to find at your book link. Also, full reviews from other sites should not be posted here, but you may post a short blurb and a link to the full review instead.

--Although self-promotion is limited to the Book Bazaar, our most successful authors have found the best way to promote their books is to be as active throughout KindleBoards as time allows. This is your target audience--book lovers with Kindles! Please note that putting link information in the body of your posts constitutes self promotion; please leave your links for your profile signature that will automatically appear on each post. For information on more ways to promote here on KindleBoards, be sure to check out this thread:
Authors: KindleBoards Tips & FAQ.

All this, and more, is included in our Forum Decorum. Be sure to check it from time to time for the current guidelines and rules.

Oh, and one more thing: be sure to check out the index threads at the top of the Book Bazaar. . . .there are details there about how you can be listed so that our readers can find you.

Thanks for being part of KindleBoards! Feel free to send us a PM if you have any questions.

Betsy & Ann
Book Bazaar Moderators
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Characters of "Child of the Ghosts": Caina Amalas

Eleven years old, Caina is the daughter of Sebastian Amalas, a Count of the Empire of Nighmar. Quiet and thoughtful, she is happiest in her father's library.

She loves her father, who would have been happier as a scholar, but lives in fear and loathing of her mother. Laeria Amalas was once an initiate of the Magisterium, the Imperial college of sorcerers, until the masters expelled her for lack of skill. Laeria yearns to resume her studies, and would pay any price to return.

Any price at all.

Including, Caina fears, the blood of her husband and daughter…
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
When I'm writing, I leave my MP3 player software on shuffle, and so particular songs tend to get associated with certain characters in my mind. This song, I think, is perfect for Caina Amalas, the main character of Child of the Ghosts. Harmonious on the surface, but dark currents stirring beneath:

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
"Child of the Ghosts" gets an approving review from Mihir Wanchoo of Fantasy Book Critic:

http://fantasybookcritic.blogspot.com/2011/12/three-indie-mini-reviews-reviewed-by.html

Key quote:

The story is a fast paced thriller in the guise of a fantasy book and was a particularly good read. The story can be viewed as an episode wherein Cania, the rest of the character cast and the world is introduced and there's definitely more to be explored. Certain things are brushed aside hopefully to be explained in the sequel books. Check out Child of the Ghosts if you are in the mood for some action packed, thrilling fantasy in the vein of James Clemens & Jim Butcher.


"Child of the Ghosts" remains free on all ebook platforms.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top