Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still making my decision regarding a Kindle, and I just recently discovered something disappointing that caused me to cross off one of the "advantages" I had in my mental list.  I'm a fifth grade teacher, and I read a lot of children's books.  In my last reading unit, I was teaching 6 different novels between my two Language Arts classes, and I thought -- how great it would be if all 6 novels were loaded on a Kindle.  No shuffling books; I could carry them easily back and forth between home and school, etc.

Then I discovered that none of the 6 books were available on Kindle.  I started checking all the titles that I have ever taught with my class ... and found only one.  Even a recently published and highly popular book like Peter and the Starcatchers was not available.

I guess I understand.  Nobody buys Kindles for fifth graders.  While I was doing my search, I did hit the button that says "please request this book on Kindle" for every book.  I don't know how much good that will do.

Those of you with more experience with Kindle ... do you envision children's books moving to Kindle format any time in the near future?

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
It's completely up to the book publishers. I suggest you write directly to them and see what their plans are to begin publishing via e-book. Seems to me a lot of publishers are reluctant to let go of their current business model.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
pidgeon92 said:
Seems to me a lot of publishers are reluctant to let go of their current business model.
And that's in spite of the fact that their current business model isn't working for them! ::)

Most recent news about Houghton-Mifflin-Harcourt, for instance, is that they're not signing any new books, and their parent company will probably sell them as a defunct publishing house with a substantial backlist and no future prospects.

Yikes.

·
Registered