Kindle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, out of curiosity, I decided to check out Arizona State University's website, and found an article on the Kindle DX. So they're going to pick a select number of students to participate in the program, eh? So, I'll return to my question, could you see fights brewing?

I could see a student saying, "Oh, what makes him/her so special that I can't have one myself? I'm a student here too!" It was a thought. Do you see something like that happening? :p

To quote one doctor:

"I was an early adopter of the Kindle and thought one could mount most of the Humanities and Social Sciences curriculum on it," says Humphrey. "I could not be more excited at being among the first to begin adapting it to classroom use." I would add: "I'm gonna carry a taser and a can of Mace with me as well. Hey, you never know, right?"

Here's the article by the way:

http://asunews.asu.edu/20090506_kindle

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
LaraAmber said:
It's not like the jealous student couldn't just order one straight from Amazon, they just won't get a free one. (Would the free ones be permanently the students or would they have to return it after a set time period?)

Lara Amber
You know? That's a good question. I didn't think about that. I attended St. John's University in Queens, New York, and they have this program where all incoming freshmen and transfer students get free laptops (I was a transfer student, and I didn't get one!). The students, however, don't really keep the laptops. When the student graduates or decides to transfer to another institution, he/she will have the option to either return it or purchase it. I'm thinking they'll do something similar to that.

·
Registered
4,076 Posts