Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

My fifth book Teller will be out middle of next month, and I'm finalizing the cover art and design. Teller is urban fantasy set in Monterey, California. Cover design is such a tricky thing. I'd love to hear what you think of the art, titles, composition, anything! (I'm an illustrator as well as writer).

Here's the full view of the cover--front and back (without cover copy or spine titling). This will be the print edition cover (through CreateSpace)
http://www.saltwaterwitch.com/TELLER-CHRISHOWARD-COVER-DISP.jpg

Here's the front cover--what will be seen on Kindle, Nook, iBooks, etc.

UPDATED COVER:

And one more time--I think this if the FINAL:

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, Joseph! That's exactly what I'm hoping to convey.

Thanks, Isaac. Great idea. I'll update the post (soon) with the back cover copy--not quite happy with it right now.
Here are a couple thumbnails--at 250px and 150px heights--what is this cover going to look like in any of Amazon's lists

·
Registered
2,433 Posts
My first reaction was to squint at it for a while until I could make out what was going on. 
I think the background behind the figure is just adding noise, and it is also making it difficult for you to find a comfortable space for your title and author name.

My instinct would be to remove the background, move the title to the bottom so the figure is hovering above the title, move the figure a little to the right so he is moving into the composition more forcefully and not so central. Maybe some of those trails can be cut off by the edge of the book.

I would also consider not trying to fit in the entire figure.  Just having his hovering feet above the title might be very striking indeed!

·
Registered
5,509 Posts
That's a very striking cover, Chris, and a beautiful illustration! I love the font and the colors.