Kindle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, gang.

This book, my first, had decent sales during the season, and quite a few outside the season, but I wouldn't mind a little critique if you have any suggestions.
Reviews have been very positive (even those from strangers!) but this upcoming season I'd like to see if I can get some more traction with this story.

http://www.amazon.com/Halloween-Host-Holiday-Novel-ebook/dp/B00NF9WQEQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1425413317&sr=8-1&keywords=the+halloween+host

The cover is my own work (I'm an illustrator). The semi-Art Nouveau is intentional as are the elements, which appear in the course of the novel. I wanted spooky but fun, since the book is rather family friendly and not a horror novel.

I can't help but wonder if the blurb works. Granted, all blurbs can probably use more punch, but is this one weak or off-putting somehow?

I guess I'm trying to determine if discoverability is my issue, or if there is a glaring flaw in my presentation.

Just a side note - I haven't got an Authors Page yet, and I'm working on getting my website ready in the next month or so.

I look forward to reading your opinions, and thanks in advance for taking the time to consider this.

·
Registered
12,722 Posts
The blurb needs something but not sure what.  Can you post it here?
What age group is your book for?  It looks like a kid's holiday book.

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
The very first line of the blurb, "Arthur Brim owes a debt, and Halloween itself has come to collect" sends the signal it's a Dr. Seuss type book with rhymes. Was that intentional?

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Cinisajoy, here ya go...

Arthur Brim owes a debt, and Halloween itself has come to collect.

If he fails to pay, every Halloween will become a bitter reminder of a broken promise to his son. To satisfy his debt, he must open his home to the spirits of the holiday.