Kindle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am an unpublished indie author. I was told that the cover is the most important piece in the book sales puzzle, so I followed some guides from the internet and designed one of my own.
I need you to give me some of your time and provide me with constructive feedback, and tell me what feelings this cover invokes from the first glance.

Thanks.
The Juncture concept-O.png

·
Registered
390 Posts
Hi LD,

If I were to glance this in thumbnail, I'd think this is a mystery, thriller, horror of some sorts. It does not evoke sci-fi (could just be me, but I do read sci-fi). It does have thriller elements, but sci-fi part is missing. Not knowing whether this is set on earth, space, other worlds etc. it's hard to provide suggestions, but you'll want to bring in some hints of imagery of the world this is set in, I think.

·
Registered
5,601 Posts
The most important things for a cover to do, assuming you want to sell as many books as you can, is to convey the genre and be clear at thumbnail size. That is because most people will encounter your books in search results and ads, so they'll be seeing them at thumbnail and they'll likely be moving quickly. That means you only have a couple of seconds to let them know that your book is a book that they might enjoy reading. The main way this is achieved is by strong contrast, both in the image itself, and between the text and the image. Your cover is a really good try for someone who's just getting started, but it's not currently doing either of those things. It doesn't evoke a sci-fi vibe, and the title is so dark that it will be really difficult to read at thumbnail.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4