Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

not sure if anyone is affected by this - the Critters workshop (which as a writer I find really useful) has closed it's doors to EU members due to the GDPR, as they can't fully implement it and it has potential massive fines. Very sad to hear, as this certainly was not what the GDPR was designed to do....

G

·
As far as I know, compliance means:

You must have a clear privacy policy
You can only request information that is necessary for performing whatever it is you do.
You must clearly tell people what you are doing with that data
You must keep it secure

What is it they claim they can't adhere to?

·
Registered
2,637 Posts
Bards and Sages (Julie) said:
As far as I know, compliance means:

You must have a clear privacy policy
You can only request information that is necessary for performing whatever it is you do.
You must clearly tell people what you are doing with that data
You must keep it secure

What is it they claim they can't adhere to?
In addition to what you mentioned, you also have to be able to give the user all the data you have collected on them and allow them to correct it and in some cases delete it and have it removed from search engines like Google, etc. It isn't trivial, and when one potential infraction could ruin you, who can blame them? 4% of turnover or 20 million euros, whichever is higher, and from what I've seen large sections of the law are every bit as ambiguous as KDP's content policy. Throw in some ambulance chasers looking for a big win to collect their fee off the top and you have a recipe for disaster.

I'm not saying the law isn't a good thing in principle and a big step forward to reining in the ridiculous level of data scooping being done, but the fines are simply too high for most small companies to risk.

·
Registered
191 Posts