Kindle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an aspiring writer who wants, more than anything, to make a go at making this a full time career for me. I LOVE the horror genre, and have cut my teeth on books by Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Anne Rice, ect. It's what I love to read and what I love to write. I have been lurking on these boards long enough to know that you can't always write what you love and expect to make money (let alone a living). I was wondering if there were any horror authors or anyone familiar enough with the genre who could tell me about the current state of it.

·
Registered
3,104 Posts
There's always a market for good horror. I've been full time for 13 years now and these last two have been my best financially so far, so get to it...

·
Registered
143 Posts
horror is huge right now

on twitter, follow paul tremblay, stephen graham jones, grady hendrix - if you follow them & bunch of the people they follow you'd find a ton of new horror releases + you find out when they have zooms or new youtubes

adam cesare is another one to study, clown in a cornfield is from harper collins but pretty sure he started as an indie

i haven't seen riley sager on social media but read him too

·
Registered
677 Posts
A market doesn't have to be romance-sized to make a living.
Smaller niche markets have hungry readers, too.

Horror has been great to me! JOIN US!!

·
Registered
786 Posts