Kindle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a retired developer. Have been working with computers for the past 30 years. Recently started twitch streaming and publishing programming books full time, found out people are using these third party tools for reporting. I was curious so checked out how their back end was set up. It is DODGY AF. They create an account for you using amazon api then they ask for your cookies (KDP Champ asks for it manually, Get Book reports does it automatically via the plugin), they submit your amazon cookies to their server so they can fetch the latest data (sales report that you can export/generate manually) from your account on your behalf. Let me explain it in non technical ways.

THE DATA IS SAVED SERVER SIDE. IT IS SAVED ON THEIR DATABASE. IT IS NOT CLIENT SIDE. THEY HAVE ACCESS TO YOUR SALES DATA. Impossible to do it client side. Meaning, they can access your sales data anytime they want. Obviously they will say they would never do that bla bla, they have "made it secure" bla bla do not trust the people behind these plugins. I've also noticed in all their back stories they have some connection to publishing. I would not be surprised if they are stealing the data for their personal use. Wow big claims, I know. Whether they are or not, it is very much possible from a technical POV. DO NOT USE THIRD PARTY TOOLS THAT ARE ASKING FOR YOUR COOKIES PERIOD.