Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I feed my dog Science Diet dog food.  I'm not a health-nut on behalf of my dog.  In fact, I've always used Purina Dog Chow and my dogs have been very healthy and lived very long lives.  But now that I am in an apartment and have to pick up after my dog--ahem--I wanted a dog food that has as little filler as possible.

I've been using Science Diet for several years, but noticed the last time I picked some up that there are other "premium" dog foods that are just a little bit cheaper than Science Diet.  And then I was reading the other thread on dog food, and found that apparently Science Diet doesn't have the greatest reputation.

So--what dog food do you prefer?  If I can find something a bit cheaper than Science Diet, maybe a bit healthier, and without any more filler, I'm all over it!

·
Registered
695 Posts
I have a fairly short list of foods I'll consider feeding my dogs.

Anything by Natura Pet: Innova, California Natural, Healthwise
Merrick
Natural Balance
Wellness
Orijen

I'm sure there are some others but I haven't researched dog food for a while.

·
Registered
695 Posts
Basically I look for a food without corn, wheat or soy as they are common allergens and corn is used as a cheap filler.  I want my protein source to be specific and if not at the top of the ingredients list it should be in the top 3, I also don't want to see the words by-products which could be anything from feet to beaks to feathers etc..  Fat should also specify source and not just say 'animal fat' or something similar.  There are some other things I use to rate my dog food but I'll just give you a quick comparison.

Here are the first 10 ingredients of Innova:
Turkey
Chicken   
Chicken Meal
Barley   
Brown Rice   
Potatoes   
Rice   
Chicken Fat
Flaxseed 
Herring   

and the first 10 ingredients of Purina Dog Chow:
Whole grain corn
poultry by-product meal