Kindle Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I have been using Humana-One for the last 4 or 5 years as my Health Insurance provider. I had a PPO plan with a very high deductible to basically cover me in case of something major... I did get basic stuff too, office visits etc.... but only went to a Doctor once for a minor thing. I paid a quarterly premium, just over 450.00 every 3 months. Never late nor missed a payment. That is somewhere between 7500-10,000 dollars I have paid this company.

Anyway, I moved from GA to CA, before I did I called to see if I could still get my plan in So Cal and I was assured that I could, though depending on where I ended up, my payments may increase, as much as 300.00. Ok, I said. In the past, anytime there was an increase they sent notification way ahead, with options and I chose what I wanted and signed off on it.

I sent in my change of address with my last bill. My plan also included a 12 month rate guarantee, so I thought I would have plenty of time to figure this out if they did want to rase my rate. They cashed my check at the beginning of February and then yesterday I receive a new bill saying I still owed over 1000.00 and another notice telling me my rate had been tripled as of March 1! I get this on March 5th!!! No explanation, I also get all kinds of new insurance crap, apparently I have been upgraded to a "Major Medical" plan with no notice, explanation or even the courtesy of a phone call to explain the situation or my options.

I have found other plans, from searching online similar to what I had in the same price range... but they have my money!  :-\ :( :mad:!

I have not called them yet (too angry!) I did tweet something about it and got a weak response... "If there is something we can do to help, email details & your contact info to social @Humana .com. -Jeff"