Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone tell me where I can find easy instructions for formatting my manuscripts before uploading them?  I mean easy as in "even a really stupid 10 year old who doesn't know what HTML is can do it."  Maybe there's a website with free instructions?  I know Smashwords has some kind of style guide, but does that work for Amazon if I'm submitting to Amazon separately?

I want to try to do this myself, to save money and also for the satisfaction of learning how to do it.  But I'm not the brightest bulb on the tree when it comes to computers.  :-[

·
Registered
9,688 Posts
I learned that I had been making a hash of my Word files for the last thirty years by clicking on ad hoc formatting commands whenever I needed one. It never mattered because I was either printing or emailing the files.

So I had a mess on my hands when I first encountered a situation where all those random clicks mattered. Formatting for eBook upload became a formidable challenge.

The solution was to go back and learn what I should have learned about Word many years ago. So I learned how to create, save, manage, and use STYLES. That made all the difference. I now have only six STYLES, have banished all the other formatting icons from the Word screen, and dumped the ribbons at the top of the Word screen. I only use my STYLES to format. Never anything else. Always.

After I figured this out, I copy/pasted to NotePad, copy /pasted back into my new Word configuration, and applied my six STYLES as needed. It was easy.

Now there is no formatting step. A Word HTML file goes into Mobi, I ID a cover file, ID the TOC tag, and produce a prc file that can be directly uploaded to Amazon. Prior to that upload, I USB copy to my personal Kindle to make sure it looks right . If it does, it gets uploaded. If not, i fix it in Word and repeat until I like it.

I then input the prc file to Calibre and upload the ePub output to B&N.