Kindle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never done this before, but if you email attachments to your Kindle, does Amazon automatically convert them to the Kindle format? And how long does this usually take?

Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
Yes, it will do it automatically, depending on the format.... PDF, TXT, RTF are some formats that can be converted. Not every file format can be converted, and complex PDFs often fail.

Generally, it should only take a minute or so to appear on your Kindle via WhisperNet. I would imagine that very long files may take a little longer to convert.

·
Super Moderator
67,559 Posts
traceyreads said:
I have never done this before, but if you email attachments to your Kindle, does Amazon automatically convert them to the Kindle format? And how long does this usually take?

Thanks everyone!
Yes they convert -- if it's one of the approved file types: .doc, .txt, .rtf (I think). .pdf is experimental and may not convert well depending on what it is.

And it usually only takes a minute or two. I do it all the time. Be sure the e-mail address you're sending from is on your 'approved' list and be sure you know the e-mail address for your Kindle.

There are several threads on this topic, as well as other ways to convert a file, elsewhere in this Forum. Check 'em out!

Ann

·
Registered
325 Posts
Also, if you use the free delivery, it will send an attachment back to you at your registered Amazon e-mail (the one where you receive Amazon notifications). That's pretty fast, too.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Oops sorry for posting in the wrong discussion.  :) Thank you all for the information, I did not realize that I had to add approved email addresses.  I just added the one that I used, and hopefully will see the documents soon.  Although it has been about 10 minutes, nothing yet. 

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
Glynnis said: