Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When the book bazaar was announced, I liked the idea. A space was given to the overzealous authors to post their wares without overrunning the book discussion theads. To compensate, the Bargain Books and Free Books forums were placed in the bazaar area as well.

Several days ago, I posted a thread announcing the release of my new book below down with all the other author stuff. It remained visible on page 1 of the forum for almost a whole day. During that time I, two copies of my book were purchased. Rather than be pushy and obnoxious, bumping my announcement to the first page again, I posted in the bargain books thread that my book was available at a nice bargain price. It lasted there about four hours and five more copies of my book were purchased.

My one post seems to have been offensive though, since I received an email stating that as an author, I cannot post that my book is on sale in that thread. That thread is reserved for 'members.' I find this treatment degrading and insulting. I have never been pushy and overbearing. When my first book was on sale, I posted about it once in the Bargain books thread. The sale lasted through two months, but someone else posted it in the second month, so I refrained. I see no need to be redundant.

If this is the policy of Kindle Boards, you might as well take the Bargain/Free books threads back to Book Corner. You are doing nothing but insulting the authors that are 'members' by treating them this way. I would understand this treatment if someone were to make multiple posts there. I don't understand it at all for someone who makes one post.