Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 304 Posts

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, my name's Debra Purdy Kong and I'm from Vancouver, British Columbia, and I'm new to Kindleboards, well the Kindle world, actually. I've been writing and publishing short stories, essays and articles for new thirty years. My first mystery novel, Taxed to Death, featuring tax auditor Alex Bellamy was released in print over a decade ago, but a publisher picked up the electronic rights last year and the book was released in February, 2009. Here's a bit about it:

Revenue Canada auditor, Alex Bellamy, has always dreamed of adventure. During a field audit, he discovers evidence of fraud. Alex learns that others, including someone inside Revenue Canada, are involved. He persuades his colleague, Andy Gowan, to help him investigate, but Andy is murdered and Alex is forced to turn to Jillian Scott; a lady he's never met and who has her own frightening reasons for refusing to cooperate. Soon, Jillian's fears and Alex's search for a killer embroil them in a bizarre and disturbing nightmare not everyone will survive.

The sequel, Fatal Encryption, picks up Alex's story eighteen months later, although the book was just released in print and electronically in 2009. Here's the back cover:

Dressed as Kermit the Frog on Halloween night, an unemployed Alex Bellamy wonders where his lfe went wrong. It could be worse. A few miles away, Coquitlam resident, Zachary Ternoway, is stabbed at his front door. In need of cash, Alex agrees to help catch a computer prankster at McKinleys' Department Store. But things turn serious when someone vows to permanently encrypt the store's data and torch the building unless ten million dollars is handed over in two weeks. Alex knows there's a connection between the murder and the extortion threat, yet time's running out. People are questioning his competency, and a killer's threatening his life.

To read excerpts visit www.debrapurdykong.com