Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a paranormal romance author but I'm finding out that I'm pissing off more than a few romance readers with my ultra dark books. I've had a few friends describe my books as erotica horror since I mix and mingle romance and steamy love scenes with darker elements like war, violence, the animal world. Many readers were horrified by the drug use in my last release and wrote mixed reviews raving on my writing but warning of drug use (marijuana and valium to calm a woman down) and violence.

It seems readers either love or hate this particular book which I'm learning is a good thing because it means I'm finding my niche audience. Now if I can find out how to target this audience. I've began following readers of other authors who I feel write a similar genre. Any other ideas? Has anyone else experienced this?

My previous books were not so dark but as my writing developed, I've found a unique type of book I enjoy writing, partly due to the books I've read and enjoyed so much. And I have to say that this is a surprise to me as well. I never saw myself writing horror but when a reviewer (who thought she was blasting me, giving me a bad review) warned readers and said she had to set the book aside several times because it was just "too tense" for her, a giant smile spread across my face. She had no problems with my writing and though she gave me a 2 star review, her review sounded glowing to me. In fact, it was one of those reviews you read that leave you with this idea: Don't read this. Too full of sex and drugs and way too scary. Go get a fluffly romance because this is the book your momma warned you about!

So, who else is trying to find their Niche Audience and how are you going about doing it? Any advice?

G

·
Alisha said: