Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've decided to try my hand at romance. I've never done any, ANY romance before ever in the history of all-time. I mean, don't girls usually write romances and boys write action-thrillers?

Anyways, this is not some lame attempt to boost sales by diving into the best-selling genre. This is more of a "Can I do this successfully?" personal challenge. I'd like to become a more well-rounded, diverse author and in my short writing career I have avoided romance like the plague.

Here's why...

Do you always have to describe everything your characters are feeling? And how they feel about others? What about miscommunications, misunderstandings and all of the confusion that goes along with a relationship? Do you need sultry sex scenes? What about hurt feelings, arguments and resolutions?

I know, I know ladies, stop rolling your eyes. This stuff doesn't come natural to men. I'm definitely in over my head here. Now, if ya'll could provide some much needed guidance and then I'll be on my way...

And if this romance becomes to tedious to write, I may combine it with another genre, like historical fiction.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
My first question is, and I don't mean it to sound snide, just a big Important general question, have you ever read a romance novel? And I don't mean Nicholas Spark. Have you read one that was written specifically in the romance novel genre? And if so, have you read more than one? What did you think of it?

Your replies will give me and the romance writers here a feel of where you stand in your challenge :).

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
I've considered writing romance.

But I used to read them. And if I were to start writing them the first thing I'd do would be to grab a dozen of the most popular perma freebies and see what they're about nowadays.

So start with reading a bunch of them, then see what questions you still have.

·
Registered
1,562 Posts