Veiled Obsession (His Agenda 1), by Dori Lavelle. (Still 0.99?)

"There are no words that can describe the excellence of Veiled Obsession. Dori takes the reader on a dark and twisted journey leaving you breathless and wondering what the Hell..." -- Amazon reviewer

I cry for the man I used to know, the man I used to love...until his love killed mine.

My name is Haley Macknight, and I'm dying inside. From the outside my life is every woman's dream. I'm married to Jude Macknight, a sexy multimillionaire who loves me...too much.

Once upon a time, I loved him. But that love is dead. Unwilling to let me go, I've become his obsession. He will stop at nothing to make sure I remain in a marriage I no longer want, inside my gilded cage.

Each day I pull away from Jude, I watch him transform into a monster. Before my eyes, he becomes a man I don't recognize, a dangerous man. He makes it clear that I belong to him, that my life is no longer my own. If I leave, he'll kill me. But if I stay, I'll die a slow death.

**This serial unfolds over three volumes.**

Dangerous Intentions (His Agenda 2) is now available for preorder.

206 pages, with a 4.7-star rating from 42 reviews.

They Met At Shiloh: a Civil War Novel (Shiloh Series Book 1), by Phillip Bryant. (Still 0.99?)

"Bryant brings to life the soldiers who fought for a variety of reasons, risking their lives for their 'pards' and their country. Well researched, well thought out, and well worth the money." -- Amazon reviewer

Pittsburg Landing was a place at peace-one that never expected to be the site for one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War. Peace is shattered as Confederate and Federal troops meet on the fields and farms surrounding a tiny Methodist church. In the midst of death and destruction, friendships form as four soldiers struggle to survive the battle.

Forced to leave his position as minister, Phillip Pearson knows his life is in danger, but not just from the Confederates. The Harper family, incensed at Pearson's refusal to bury a philandering son, has a vendetta against him that is played out on the battlefield.

Demoted from his command by a West Point graduate, Capt.Michael Greirson is forced to choose between ambition and duty.

When a bumbling youth becomes his shadow, Private Robert Mitchell gains an unlikely friend-something that has been missing from his life. Afraid to trust, he is forced to confront those fears and depend on others in the heat of battle.

War is an adventure to Private Stephen Murdoch and his best friend, William Banks. For months they dream of the glory of war before volunteering together. On the eve of battle, they sense something momentous is about to happen. Their idealistic views fade in the blood of their fallen comrades.

Of the 40,000 Confederates and 30,000 Federals about to come face to face along the banks of the Tennessee River, these four soldiers will experience fear and questions of faith for what lies beyond. Two days of horrific fighting turn boys into men and sever the sacred bonds of comradeship in the bloodiest days of the war.

221 pages, with a 3.8-star rating from 407 reviews.

Free today!
Smile Now, Cry Later (Chuck Restic Private Investigator Series Book 1), by Paul MacDonald. (Still free?)

"Goodbye Harry Bosch, hello to the new investigator for the 21st Century!" -- Amazon reviewer

A brilliant new addition to the classic detective story.

Chuck Restic is wasting away in a soul-crushing job in Corporate America. As an HR exec he spends his days avoiding lawsuits. But when Chuck ventures out of his Los Angeles skyscraper to investigate the disappearance of a colleague, he starts to feel alive again.
Chuck's not your typical Private Investigator (he prefers a passive-aggressive approach over the old-fashioned fisticuffs kind) but he is amusingly effective at solving crimes. And at last he is able to apply that HR experience -- the same one that gives him so much consternation -- to a finer purpose.

This first book in the humorous mystery series takes Chuck from the shady underworld of Armenian mobsters to the billion-dollar land developments that serve as the lifeblood of Los Angeles. Murder lurks at every turn and this amateur sleuth needs to find the killer before his name is added to the list.

The Chuck Restic Series is a fun romp that mashes traditional mystery with a scathing send-up of Corporate America. It's a new kind of noir that delivers a fresh take on the classic Los Angeles detective novel and will have you wanting more from Chuck Restic, Private Investigator.

249 pages, with a 4.5-star rating from 33 reviews.

Free today!
The Kinshield Legacy: An epic fantasy adventure (The Kinshield Saga Book 1), by K.C. May. (Still free?)

"I cringed, I delighted, I was completely and utterly engaged." -- Motherlode book reviews

Book 1 of The Kinshield Saga

A mysterious stone tablet with five magical gems has sat abandoned in a cave for two hundred years. The kingdom is in ruins, with only warrant knights to keep the peace. But then, the gems in the tablet, one by one, disappear.

Warrant knight Gavin Kinshield is a man of many secrets. He's the one deciphering the runes in the tablet. Unless he can find a suitable replacement, he'll be Thendylath's next king. All he really wants is the letter written by his ancestor Ronor Kinshield, champion to King Arek, confessing the truth of how the king perished... a letter he must earn by tracking down a common thief.

But when Gavin saves a woman's life, what should have been a simple task draws him face-to-face with his nightmarish past... and the truth of King Arek's demise.

The Kinshield Saga series consists of:
Book 1: The Kinshield Legacy
Book 2: The Wayfarer King
Book 3: Well of the Damned
Book 4: Kinshield's Redemption

378 pages, with a 4.2-star rating from 260 reviews.

"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!
(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)