Seared, by Sandra Gustafsson. (Still 0.99?)

"Incredibly intense story. Sandra Gustafssons prose is precise and fascinating. Every word is emotionally charged and the book is so psychologically intense you almost forget to breathe. Magnificently written." -- Amazon Reviewer


"Seared is a psychological thriller in the style of Gone Girl"


- Red City Review




This is definitely a novel that should be read by people who enjoy intense psychological stories. It is not a light read.


-Reader Views



Helena is incarcerated. She has crossed the lines, but what has she done?

Once a week, Helena see a psychologist and talks with him, and the truth is presented piece by piece. For several years she had a relationship with a man who gave her the courage to live, despite her dark secrets, but she was always "the other woman" and finally Helena's fragile world crashes.
We meet Helena in shards: talks with the psychologist interspersed with flashbacks to her childhood and Helena's inner conversation with the love of her life.
The story is full of nerves and tension rises with the realization of who Helena really is.
Seared is a psychological thriller that insightfull depicts a broken womans desperate attempts to create a life worth living.
"Seared is an impressive debut and one of those novels that stays with you."
- Hallandsposten
"Seared is a psychological thriller in the style of Gone Girl, the main conflict unfolding delicately and masterfully over the course of the novel/.../Both brisk and brutally raw, Seared is highly recommended for fans of thrillers and family dramas."
- Red City Review
"She demonstrates her talent as she succeeds in maintaining vivid suspense on every page."
- DAST magazine
"Free of complicated turns of phrase, Gustafsson's language works through the most dreadful subjects and sets forth a creative narrative that's much more dark than light."
- Göteborgsposten
"Seared is a real page-turner and a torment at the same time, as the reader shares Helena's destructive behavior and harrowing experiences."
- LEVA PS!
Scroll up and grab a copy today!

311 pages, with a 3.4-star rating from 12 reviews.



Free today!
A Life of Her Own: Five Tales of Homestead Women, by Mae Schick. (Still free?)

"I found this a great read. Being a lover of history and knowing of the hardships of eking out a living on the plains, to view this solely from a woman's' perspective was very informative but at the same time entertaining and educational. Well done!" -- Amazon Reviewer

A tar paper shack sits on 160 acres of partially cultivated land. Beside the shack stands a solitary woman, surveying the land she has yet to till. In five years she can own this land…if she can make it productive. And if she can outlast the acts of nature, the violent intruders, and jealous homesteader wives who threaten her claim.
Inspired by the true stories of brave, single women who claimed frontier land as part of Abraham Lincoln's Homestead Act of 1864. Follow the stories of five single women fighting for A Life of Their Own: pragmatic Mirna, scintillating Sophie, bright Nora, bewildered Lizzie, and enigmatic Mrs. Andersson. Will they be able to prove up their land? Can they thrive?


146 pages, with a 4.3-star rating from 3 reviews.



Free today!
Miami Requiem: A Crime Thriller (Deborah Jones Crime Thriller Series Book 1), by J.B. Turner. (Still free?)

"An extremely well written thriller set in a newspaper office. I particularly liked the descriptions of the characters who came to life on the page. It was a joy to read a well copy edited and proofread book. Fast paced and energetic storyline was genuinely worth five stars." -- Amazon Reviewer

A devastating race-against-time crime thriller for fans of John Grisham, Sara Paretsky, James Patterson, and Karin Slaughter.
'She wanted the truth. They wanted her dead'.
Since her first day on the Miami Herald, rookie reporter Deborah Jones has been agitating for a shot at one particular story. William Craig is on Death Row, convicted of killing Senator Jack O'Neill's only son. There is no question of his guilt. Craig murdered the young man who was acquitted of raping his granddaughter. There are only five weeks and one day until his execution. And Craig has not given a single interview. Deborah Jones has assembled a whole dossier on the case, including court transcripts and every newspaper clipping. She wants to know what prompted Craig to exact revenge. And she has her own, very personal reasons for wishing to uncover the truth. Managing editor of the Herald Sam Goldberg is well aware that Senator O'Neill, a vengeful man, has powerful friends, some with Mob links. The two men have crossed swords on a number of occasions. But against his better judgement, he decides to give Deborah a chance to prove herself. Only with one warning - 'Be careful. Florida may be the Sunshine State to most people. But it's not. It's a swamp. Don't ever forget that.'


405 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 364 reviews.



Free today!
Starship's Mage: Omnibus: (Starship's Mage Book 1), by Glynn Stewart. (Still free?)

"Space-opera with magic- a new twist on a well-known subject. Good writing, a lot of action, a nice little love-story, some pirates and a classical outlaw-by-error story. Did I mention space-opera? I will definitely try the following book by this author." -- Amazon Reviewer

In a galaxy tied together by the magic of the elite Jump Magi, Damien Montgomery is a newly graduated member of their number.
With no family or connections to find a ship, he is forced to service on an interstellar freighter known to be hunted by pirates.
When he takes drastic action to save the Blue Jay from their pursuers, he sets in motion a sequence of events beyond his control - and attracts enemies on both sides of the law!

Starship's Mage was originally released as five separate episodes.


299 pages, with a 4.4-star rating from 128 reviews.



"Like" our Facebook page so you never miss a bargain e-book!

Free and Bargain Kindle books, delivered to your inbox:
Subscribe today to our daily e-mail!
(We save you time by curating our selections of bargain books. We filter out books with a less than 4-star rating, or have few reviews. We exclude books that are merely teasers, and generally exclude those that are less than 100 pages in length. Your time is valuable and we strive to find quality for you in your bargain e-books!)