Kindle Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
581 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you're a programmer like me, you've probably used Emacs before. But if not, as a writer you might be quite interested in one of Emacs' most powerful features: Org mode.

Emacs is a text editor that has been in development for almost 30 years. It originally appeared on UNIX and UNIX-like systems in the 1980s, and is now up to version 24+ In my considered opinion, it is the most powerful single-process application ever written. It is described as a "self-documenting text editor." Not a word processor, as it doesn't do formatting. It just allows you to enter and save plain text.

This might sound spartan, and it is. At the same time it is quite liberating. As a programmer, I find word processors by and large to be some of the most backwards, broken and infuriating tools available on any platform (I never EVER use a word processor for anything). I believe it was best described to me by a UNIX developer colleague of mine: "Writing with a word processor is like trying to assemble a 327 V-8 engine block with your teeth."

Emacs has many dozens of modes, mostly customized for various programming languages like C and Perl. It's core system is a Lisp interpreter. However, its Org mode is designed as an outlining tool, and at that one function, it works better than anything I have ever used.

I have converted all of my manuscripts to Org documents, making each chapter a collapsible node in a large outline containing all the notes, character names, etc. for that book. It is a gigantic leap forward from the days when everything was stored in separate files. The cool thing is, even Org documents are plain text: machine readable by just about anything, even a browser.