Kindle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings everybody!  I just got my Kindle2 earlier this week for a belated birthday present and love it already.  I'm a tech geek and a reading nerd so this is awesome...  a bit about me that hopefully doesn't sound too "dating game" show talk...

I'm a 32-yr-old SoCal girl, grew up in beautiful San Diego and moved to Palmdale in 2001 for a teaching job (did I mention SD was beautiful?).  Since living here we've learned that EVERYBODY knows where Palmdale is... very weird.  Husband and I have been married since 01 but together since 93 (insert the "awwww...how cute, high school sweethearts" groan here).  We had a boy in 2004 and a girl this past June.  For a job I teach high school English (grade 9... that fantastic grade where half the population has learned about deodorant and the other half thinks swimming in cologne/perfume does the job).  Two years ago I also took on ASB (school activities) which is what I LOVE (hey, who can blame me for wanting to go to a school activity and grading that instead of grading a badly written essay?). 

In tech aspects, many years ago I stumbled across bookcrossing.com.  I'm not active on that anymore (I browse every once in a blue moon), but bookcrossing led me to geocaching which has become our number one hobby over the years.  Pair that with a ton of camping and hiking and that would be our perfect life.  November 2007 was our first trip ever to Yosemite and we are HOOKED.  We returned in April of 2008... wanted to go back in Nov of 08 but didn't think it would be a fun trip for the 4-5 month old.  This summer we've got a June trip to Sequoia National/King's Canyon, back to Yosemite in November, and then hopefully April 2010 a place in Utah a co-worker recommended (I forgot the name already), and then back to Yosemite in July (to try out Tuolomne Meadows).  Yes... we do kinda plan in advance :)