Kindle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm happy to be here! Over the years, I've sold 23 books to trad publishers. I'll continue to do more books that way but I'm also keen to take matters for some books into my own hands. Yesterday, I was interviewed at WFW about my journey from trad pub to epub with The Thin Pink Line, which was my debut novel back in 2003. Interested parties can read the interview here: http://womensfictionwriters.wordpress.com/2011/07/17/interview-with-lauren-baratz-logsted-and-the-not-so-secret-journey-of-taking-a-book-from-traditional-to-e-publication/.

Again, happy to be among you!

·
Registered
338 Posts
Welcome to the site! This is a good community, glad you decided to join.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Welcome, Lauren!

I'm a real newbie here, too. I'm also traditionally published and just released my first indie title. I enjoyed The Thin Pink Line when it was originally released. Best of luck with it!

·
Registered
77 Posts
I'm sure I recognize that face...hmmm....

Glad to find you here!

Good interview, btw.

·
Registered
8,822 Posts
Welcome to the KB.

You will find lots of friendly folks here......great interview.....thanks for sharing !

Good Luck with all your projects

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Thanks for the many more warm welcomes! And, Mike:

medicalhumor said:
Hello,
Do you have any marketing advice for fellow authors?
Thank you,
Mike Cyra
The biggest tip I can give you doesn't have to do with marketing at all and it's this: Enjoy the journey. Far too often, I see other writers making themselves crazy, trying to cover every single marketing base, beating themselves up when they don't. The truth is - or at least I hope this is the truth! - we all got into writing because we love to write. But that love gets lost when we spend our days exclusively chasing sales. So my first advice is: Find a way to hold onto that initial joy. Now, in terms of marketing itself...