Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
I don't use Google Doc forms, but I would think, yes. Not sure about reply/request forms for fans too on a website. I mean, I guess it might depend if the information is stored and then used to market info.

But I'm not a lawyer, so it would be nice to hear about that scenario from one.

I too have been going through my mailing list, adding the form to my sign-up and sending out need to respond emails. It seems everyone is doing this, because it's hard to know who is from the EU unless you gather that data too. So, I've been wondering, can you ask a person their citizenship? It may become necessary if laws are starting to be written this way, enforced by country. We may need to know what country everyone is from.

·
Registered
5,275 Posts
Ah, the latest bandaid.

I love that they think a 20 million dollar fine will deter a multibillion dollar industry.

If companies can be people, they should be subject to prison time (a business embargo plus actual prison for the board and CEO) and the death penalty (dissolution).

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
I've been picking up information on this matter in bits and pieces, and not all of it relevant to an indie author with a newsletter. Definitely feeling a need to pull it all together. Has anyone found a summary of what's expected of our particular situation, regarding compliance? If so, a link would be appreciated.

·
Registered
98 Posts
My thoughts are yes. TBH, I’ve only begun researching this today. I listened to Mark Dawson’s podcast this morning featuring a UK attorney’s understanding of the law. I also listened to another marketing podcast (not book related) and an American attorney interviewed on the subject. If you are sharing your mailing list there will need to be full disclosure and consent prior to doing so based on the legal advise I’m hearing.

·
Registered
1,207 Posts