Kindle Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear KindleBoarders,

Doesn't Kindle seem like the ideal gift to celebrate that special graduate? Much better than expensive luggage or a fancy wristwatch!

(Oh, Mom, if you're reading this... I really did appreciate that orange suitcase I got when I graduated from high school. Thanks, Mom and Dad! I got a lot of use out of it and it was awesome!!)

We're interested in posting some stories in our blog in the next few weeks about people giving Kindles as gifts to graduates. If you are gifting a lucky graduate with a Kindle this year, or if you're considering doing so, or if you're a lucky grad who actually receives one as a gift... would you tell us about it? We'd love to hear your stories!

- Harvey

·
Registered
5,163 Posts
The Kindle didn't debut until 5-6 months after I graduated, but my parents were considering a ereader for me at the time. (first ereader: rocketbook). They were considering the Sony 500 for months as I was sending them emails and reviews about it. At the time I was going to school in another city. No car. No nearby public library that can be compared to the LV libraries I was used to. So I'd take two buses (two hours worth of travelling) one way to go to the nearest book store. My brother, who went to the same school as me, wouldn't travel across town with me (wouldn't blame him), but my parents were terrified at the idea that their 18 year old daughter (fresh out of high school) was taking the bus across the city ALONE while everyone was looking for missing college girl about my same age in the area. Parents saw that I was determined to get my books the tuesday they come out and we started to look at ereaders even more so.