Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about doing my first Goodreads giveaway. I've never done one before since I've only had e-book only versions of my books, and they require physical copies. Now that I have a CreateSpace version of my latest book, I'm wondering:

• What is a good number of books to send out?
  • What success rate has anyone seen in number of copies sent out versus the number of reviews gained?

·
Registered
935 Posts
Hey Matthew,

I've done Goodreads giveaways for 4 of my books and here's what I think about them:

I'd only give away 1 copy because it makes no difference to number of entries.

I'd run each one for a minimum of a month, preferably 2 to gain maximum exposure.

Think about what the first few words of your blurb will say as this is what people will see on the thumbnail page.

They're great for getting people to add you to their 'to read' shelf, even if they don't necessarily end up reading it.

They're good exposure for relatively small outlay.

I got good reviews from the winners, but I didn't manage to track sales/reviews from people who who 'added' my book as a result of entering the giveaway.

I messaged a hundred or so of the 'non winners' saying 'sorry you didn't win this time, but the book is available from...' And I got a lot of sales from that message.

Hope that helps :)

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Shalini Boland said:
I messaged a hundred or so of the 'non winners' saying 'sorry you didn't win this time, but the book is available from...' And I got a lot of sales from that message.
That's a really good idea and hadn't even crossed my mind about the exposure I would receive even from the non-winners. I feel like I should have already listed a giveaway now :( Thanks for the info!

·
Registered
935 Posts
Matthew Milson said: