Kindle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
543 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While I'm becoming more familiar and comfortable here KB, I have to admit I'm completely lost about the best ways to use Goodreads from an indie author perspective. I'd like to interact with readers over there, but not sure the best way to do it? Do they have forums or do you have to join particular groups to interact?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
There are a ton of groups ranging everything you can probably imagine. Join up with some of them and chat.

A couple of pieces of advice: Do not send messages to people you don't know telling them about your book. Do not invite people to things randomly. Do not post your book all over the place in conversation threads.

I'm a writer and it annoys me, so I'm pretty sure what I mentioned above must drive readers away more than it attracts them.

·
Registered
571 Posts
I've been on Goodreads for a few months, and never quite figured it out. A couple days ago I started a giveaway of my paperback. Now I'm suddenly connecting with all kinds of folks and getting exposure.
Do a giveaway.  ;)

·
Registered
3,292 Posts
As a long-time Goodreader, I can honestly say that you have to be very careful about joining GR or any other site for that matter if your primary interest is to promote your books. Joining GR with an author-centric attitude can get you into a lot of trouble. Remember, Goodreads is a site for readers, not authors. With that said, Goodreads is a wonderful site that does offer a few author-centric tools you can use to interact with readers. The first thing you need to do when you join Goodreads is to request an author profile from the site administrators. Not only will an author profile distinguish you from other GR members, it will also link your books to your profile making them visible to anyone who checks your profile.