Kindle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings everyone. I'm a new author. Everyone one keeps telling me how useful this message board is so I'm finally joining. I'm about to release my first book, The Seed of Wonder. Here is the short description.

The isolated gnomes of McClelland Garden thought Rinn was long dead, but one day the adventurer returns with disturbing news-the world is much bigger than previously imagined and gnomes everywhere are turning to stone. To stop magic from seeping away, they must go on a dangerous adventure to find The Seed of Wonder, and present it to the thing they fear most-a human. Meanwhile a neglected boy, who many assume to be brain damaged, begins to see magical creatures in his backyard. Those creatures ask him to go on a journey and receive a gift. To all appearances this is a simple walk in the woods, but the boy learns there is more to the world than can be seen with the eye.

I've been learning as I go, trying to follow the (sometimes contradicting) marketing advice from self-publishing websites. So far I have a website swansonfiction.com, with a mailchimp account. I have about 15 beta-readers working on my 2nd draft and an editor.

Right now I'm trying to decide whether or not to release only on Kindle Select or put my book everywhere.

I designed the cover myself. I'm an illustrator by day. I'd love to get opinions on what I have so far from experienced self-published fiction authors.

·
Registered
744 Posts
Congrats, Shaun!  :)

I think you are off to a GREAT start! Love the cover of the book and the banner on your website. Very nice.  :)

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
carinasanfey said: