Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK- so my Kindle (Sookie) is now 8 days "old".  In those seemingly sort 8 days, I have finished the Southern Vampire Series... I have now found myself in a funk.  What do I read now???

Any thoughts?

(I have already read Janet Evanaovich's Stephanie Plum books.  I have read the Twilight series.  I thought that the Southern Vampire series was a good blend of those two series but now I need something NEW!) 
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
657 Posts
Have you read the Rachel Morgan series by Kim Harrison?




The new one comes out the end of the month!


All but the newest are kindled but I bet it will be the day the book comes out. No offense to Sookie fans but I love Rachel more..
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Does nobody but me read novels that aren't part of some series anymore?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
657 Posts
Bacardi Jim said:
Does nobody but me read novels that aren't part of some series anymore?
hey I just bought the book you are always pimping out ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,205 Posts
Bacardi Jim said:
Does nobody but me read novels that aren't part of some series anymore?
I'd buy Fevre Dream, but I refuse to pay $9.99 when it was $3.95 before. :) I will wait it out and snap it up when it hits that price or lower again. It has happened before with other books.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
BJ- It doesn't HAVE to be a series.....I mean, I find that I enjoy series more, but I have read PLENTY that are not... and despite opinions here, I am not totally all about vampires and sci-fi either. In fact, Twilight followed by Southern Vampire Series are the only sci-fi/romance that I have ever read!

I LOVE that I ask for opinions and within 15 mins have all these books recommended! This is reason alone to stay with KindleBoards.com!!! (Although I love the camaraderie of fellow Kindle users, too!)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
657 Posts
KindleKay said:
BJ- It doesn't HAVE to be a series.....I mean, I find that I enjoy series more, but I have read PLENTY that are not... and despite opinions here, I am not totally all about vampires and sci-fi either. In fact, Twilight followed by Southern Vampire Series are the only sci-fi/romance that I have ever read!

I LOVE that I ask for opinions and within 15 mins have all these books recommended! This is reason alone to stay with KindleBoards.com!!! (Although I love the camaraderie of fellow Kindle users, too!)
You should try the Rachel Morgan series if just for the world's sexiest pixie named Jenks! Don't laugh, he looks like Brad Pitt and has a fighter's personality and totally steals the series.
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
LDB said:
Never heard of these and thought it might be interesting until the first sentence of the review advertises it's abandonment of the Constitution with a totally unacceptable premise.
Editorial Review - In the year 2022, the term "due process" has lost all meaning. All military and law enforcement branches of the government have been absorbed by the elephantine Department of Homeland Security. Claiming to use the most sophisticated computer models of human psychology as well as wiretapping every citizen in America, the DHS rounds up people they suspect of having the potential to commit acts of violence and secretes them in hellish prisons, where these "terrorist gonnabes" are held without being charged, without trials, without lawyers--tortured until they confess to the crimes they might have been going to commit. Meanwhile, President Holly invents a way to enact laws on which Congress never gets to vote, calling them "signing statements."
Wow! I see what you mean!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,205 Posts
LDB said:
Never heard of these and thought it might be interesting until the first sentence of the review advertises it's abandonment of the Constitution with a totally unacceptable premise.
What?!

Your overbearing neo-con persona on this board is some kind of shtick, right? ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,565 Posts
Editorial Review - It is 2058. New York cop Eve Dallas doesn't have to confront gun crime anymore, no one does. Guns are simply relics.

Then again, you might see this and if you did see you'd see that any negative garbage like what you posted from the synopsis is a direct result of blind people letting the above happen which if our current UN loving socialists get their way will happen.

Perhaps my initial judgment of the book is hasty. Perhaps it's a good read to warn complacents of what to expect if they continue as they are.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
657 Posts
CS said:
What?!

Your overbearing neo-con persona on this board is some kind of shtick, right? ;)
Nope CS meet LDB, LDB meet CS..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,205 Posts
LDB said:
Editorial Review - It is 2058. New York cop Eve Dallas doesn't have to confront gun crime anymore, no one does. Guns are simply relics.

Then again, you might see this and if you did see you'd see that any negative garbage like what you posted from the synopsis is a direct result of blind people letting the above happen.
OH MAH GAW!

A fictional world set in the future that *GASP* creates its own rules.

*Almost faints from the shock*

You aren't serious, right?
 
B

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
CS said:
OH MAH GAW!

A fictional world set in the future that *GASP* creates its own rules.

*Almost faints from the shock*

You aren't serious, right?
He is serious. :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,205 Posts
Well, despite "In Death's" status as an egregious violator of the constitution of the United States of America, I still recommend the series.

After all, one of our inalienable constitutional rights is the pursuit of happiness, and I predict this series will make you very happy.
 
1 - 20 of 66 Posts
Top