Kindle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To reach bigger audience I am thinking of translating my non-fiction book into English (its original language is Spanish).

As a non-native of English, although I can translate it on my own, this would need several proofreading, as my english (is understandable) but not perfect enough to publish a book.

On the other hand, on fiverr paying to translate from Spanish to English costs the same or less than paying for proofreading.

But my question is: if I pay someone to translate my book and publish it, does the translator acquire any kind of copyright on the book?

·
Registered
97 Posts
This can vary greatly from country to country, and also depending on the translator.

I'm a translator myself (English to French) and in France, *usually* the translator owns the copyright to the translation itself.

From my research though this does not seem to be the norm in the States.

My advice would be to discuss it with the translator before hand. Find one willing to go with your terms. And, ideally, make a contract that spells it all out clearly so that you don't have a nasty surprise at some point down the line.

·
Registered
2,494 Posts
catslover said:
On the other hand, on fiverr paying to translate from Spanish to English costs the same or less than paying for proofreading.
If you find someone on Fiverr that will "translate" your book for cheaper than proofreading, they will almost certainly not give you a good product. In fact, they will likely run your text through a machine translator and hand it back to you after collecting your money.

Real translations cost money. Making sure the translation ends up as a good book (comparable to the original, assuming THAT is a good book) takes a native speaker who is also a good writer.

Bottom line, there are no cheap shortcuts.