Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
I was researching for a nonfiction book I wanted to write and ended up getting so excited by the news and enthusiasm on this board that I decided to do self publish my novel, as well!

·
Registered
255 Posts
I've been writing for over 15 years and for the first 10 of those I wanted to be a professional screenwriter, went to film school and everything. I got two measly options, spoke to some Oscar-winning producers on the phone, came close to a sale once. A script of mine was even plagiarized by an unscrupulous two-bit TV actor who produced his own made-for-cable movie.

So after a while you can tell I was fed up with the whole business. This is compounded by the fact that your success in Hollywood is heavily influenced by your networking skills, something I never had.

I transitioned to writing novels, slowly at first. I would still write screenplays once in a while to change things up. The format is so different that the change of pace did me good.

Years later, having grown in talent and experience, I wanted to get my writing published. So I did the query tango, writing to publishers, then to literary agents. I've gotten good reviews on my work so I knew I wasn't being rejected because of lack of talent. I'm just a terrible salesman. Calling up people and going all Glenngary Glen Ross on them IS JUST NOT ME!

And this is how I came to self-publish. It allowed me to bypass the system, to stop depending on others. I don't have to come begging to the Big 6 monopoly asking "Please, would you allow me to eat your crumbs and sweep your floors?" It also helps that the stigma associated with self-publishing is slowly vanishing thanks to the Lockes and Konraths of this world.

Now I just have to put out a good product, let readers know about it, and hope they spread the good word...

·
Registered
784 Posts