Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
3,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since the Kindle itself is rather "green" - since you can hold an entire forest worth of books in it! - I was just wondering how many other green things folks may be doing. Here are some that our family does:

- changing incandescent bulbs out for compact fluorescents

- recycling

- composting

- riding/walking short distances (to work, the store, etc.)

- buying organic products

- buying locally (such as farmers markets)

- using electricity produced from renewable/sustainable sources (like wind farms or hydro)

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
I studied on line and in the stores about the compact florescent and then made a talk at our neighborhood association and presented a box of the CF L's as the door prize. I am gradually trading out all of my lightbulbs as we speak. I also recycle.

·
Premium Member
19,280 Posts
-changing incandescent bulbs out for compact fluorescents

check!

- recycling

check!

- composting

we did for awhile. Not so much now.

my husband is better about this than me.

not specifically.

yes.

- using electricity produced from renewable/sustainable sources (like wind farms or hydro)

no...but if I had the option I would.

We also keep the thermostat very very low and pile on the blankets.

This summer's big project was to completely clean out the attic and build a whole new floor and insulate it, which should result in significant heat savings in the kitchen.

We have two cars (not SUVs) that get pretty good gas mileage, too.

L

·
Registered
5,163 Posts
recycle avidly
reuse/recycle plastic bags
Use cloth grocery bags
fluorescent lights
no paper or plastic plates/utensils
trying to go organic (hard when i am not the one buying food)
no longer print my notes.
decrease use of paper towels (only use it if the dog 'goes' in the house)
I email my essays to my teachers.
only use the SUV, if we have to.
one of the two house has solar panels.