Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As an author I toil to create truthful, descriptive names for my characters because I believe they can either propel the character forward or drag him/her down. Some authors have a gift - JK Rowling, for instance. "Harry Potter," "Voldemort" and "Snape" each evoke exactly who the character turns out to be. Other greats: "Heathcliff" - "Atticus Finch."

Conversely, some are so off, they create confusion: "Renesmee" (Breaking Dawn), or what about "Clarice Starling"?

Would love to hear how readers and authors feel about names.  What puts you off about a name or how it is used?  What grabs your attention?

·
Super Moderator
67,496 Posts
I honestly don't notice the names unless they feel really jarring for some reason. . .and I can't even recall a specific case.  I do appreciate when a name seems to be particularly 'right' but, again, I can't recall a specific case.  So the answer is probably that it doesn't really matter to me. :D

(btw, recall we're in the Book Corner -- authors who wish to discuss the question from the 'thinking up a name' point of view, should do so in the Cafe. Thanks. )

·
Premium Member
6,848 Posts
I read quite a lot of Fantasy and Science Fiction, so I regularly come across odd character names.  I really don't mind them so long as I can come up with a pronunciation I can hold in my head while I read.  If the author provides a pronunciation key, I usually ignore that and just pronounce is however I feel.  There are some names I know how to pronounce and usually do so - like 'Siobhan' I will read as 'Shuh-vawn' and not 'Seeo-ban' - but usually I will just go with whatever my brain likes.

·
Registered
559 Posts
Geoffrey said: