Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm new to self publishing, started this month. I was wondering how long it took before you got sales? Answers anyone.

I'm advertising, I'm on twitter and even reading John Lock's book for ideas. I would be love to hear your experinces.

Thanks

Iris  :)

·
Registered
5,749 Posts
What specifically do you mean? Sales at all, or a high sales volume?

I saw sales right away. I didn't even know my book was live until Courtney Milan tweeted about it, so I went to check, and sure enough, I already had like 9 sales!

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
Depends on a lot of things: genre, how much you're promoting, etc.  For my first book, it took a few weeks, but I wasn't promoting at first, either.  Once I started chatting here on Kindleboards and trying some promotional things I came across here, sales slowly started to come in.  My second book, the sequel, started going the first day, but I'm sure that's because people had already read the first one.

As long as you've edited your novels well and aren't trying to sell middle grade eBooks (which don't sell well at all right now) you should start seeing some sales soon. 

·
Registered
164 Posts
Does my father count? ;D

Probably a day or two for "strangers", but my book is a collection of recipes off a reasonably well-followed blog, so I get sales dribbling in from there. It depends, I suspect, on whether people know to look for your book or not. I'm not a hard-core promoter (indeed, I mentioned the book once on by blogs, bump a post in the bazaar when I remember, and posted to my facebook twice, total), so right now the only ones who know about it are... Um...

Major, life-altering sales, though? Not a clue.

·
Registered
1,614 Posts