Kindle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a netbook that has no cd/dvd drive, and have been converting my dvds to a file that can be transferred to the netbook to watch. Someone on another thread asked me to start a thread explaining how to do this. I'm sure there are other programs that work as well, but this is the one I've been using for several years to convert dvd's to play on my Treo phone and now recently on the netbook. So here goes (You just need your pc, the free software, your dvd to convert, your Kindle and a bottle of wine):

The software I use is Fair Use Wizard Light Edition (it's free). It can be downloaded here:

http://www.fairusewizard.com/lang_en/fairuse_wizard_dvd_divx_xvid_backup_tool_light_edition.html

It doesn't have a manual but there are several tutorials online, easily found by a Google search. I'll give you instructions to get you through the first conversion then you can tinker more from there. It's easier than it sounds, after doing it once it will make sense.

After downloading and installing Fair Use, you're ready to go. Let's say you own "The Godfather" and want to watch it on your netbook (this process is similar for an IPhone or other small devices, with a couple of key differences that I won't go into unless someone wants to know.)

Pop "The Godfather" into your computer's dvd drive. then start Fair Use, and the first screen will ask you to name the project you're about to create. Name it "The Godfather" (of course), then tell it where to save it on your computer (your "My Videos" folder is fine). Leave everything else on the first screen as is, and click "Next".

Next screen: Select your dvd drive (you probably only have one) and click Okay.