Kindle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I published my novel in November, and it's been priced at 99 cents since launch.  I set it this low, after much hand-wringing and research, because I am a first-time author with no base and figured people would not take a chance on a pricey book from a first-timer. I signed up to do KDP select and am planning on doing a few free days in February. I'm wondering what to price the book when it goes back on sale.

What has your experience been? Did you hike up the price in anticipation of of the sales spike? Or did you keep it low so you could maximize the amount of sales?

Thanks for any advice you can give me! I'm glad I found these boards.

·
Registered
973 Posts
Welcome!

I launched a somewhat similar novel last year, with a fifteen-year-old protagonist. I'd consider raising your price to $2.99 or $3.99. I've had good results at both prices. It can be helpful to have a perma-free or low priced title if you have several books, but I'm not sure it is the best strategy when you have just one title.

I'm sure others will disagree, however. Good luck to you!

·
Registered
405 Posts
We find it's best to set the price low, as people hear about the giveaway too late, go to the book, find it's no longer free but low-priced so they think 'might as well buy it now I'm here'. We set it a bit higher than you ($2.99) as Amazon only gives us 30% on a lower price than that and we pay the author royalties as we're the publisher, so we need to be able to give them a good amount.

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·