Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a traditionally-published SF author. I branched out recently and wrote a novella of 35,000 words. My agent sent it around. We got an offer of $4,000 and 30% royalties. Obviously, they'll handle editing, marketing, design, production and audio production, etc.

I'm tempted, because money is money, and also because the First Rule of Self-Publishing Club seems to be 'work your ass off' and I'm kind of a lazy slacker. So I'm not sure I can trust myself to invest enough effort to give this a real shot.

On the other hand, I have a few fans from my existing books, and blurbs from well-known authors I can re-use for this. And the novella is damn good. And I've heard that SF is a pretty strong genre. So I'm considering taking the leap. (Also $4k seems low enough that's it's maybe attainable, even after I shell out for all the services I'll need?)

I have about 10 other stories I want to tell in this SF world. However,  it takes me two or three months to write a novella. So I'm not as productive as most writers here, but I'm definitely considering a rather long series.

I know the upside potential is much higher if I self-publish, but the great likelihood is that I'd sell a couple hundred copies and make a couple hundred bucks. Is that right?

So! Advice?

·
Registered
490 Posts