Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13,767 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a die hard Kindle ONE owner, who wasn't too sure whether the Kindle 2 would benefit me, because I have my books stored (many non-Amazon freebies - 4,000 +) on an SD Card and would have found the switch to the new device a hardship. Now after spending some time on line and 2 calls to Amazon customer support, I learned that:

1 - The new DX, although pricey, allows you to maintain the old Kindle and the book investment at no additional charge. "You can have up to 6 kindle devices on one account, sir," which was music to my ears, since Amazon restricted this option in the past.

2 - Not only is the screen bigger and the formatting the same (that's important to me for a few reasons.
I'm a Kindle author and would like to assure quality on both size devices.
lol, but the memory has been expanded so that the device can hold an estimated 6,000 books. Library of Congress, here I come.

3 - So

I took the Plunge

and just purchased a Kindle DX with an estimated delivery date of June 11th. So everyone can feel free to celebrate the occasion with pinatas and beer. I'll be whispernetting the meager 1,000 Amazon books I have, which will probably take until June 15th. ;D

Edward C. Patterson

·
Registered
7,047 Posts
Good for you Ed - it's important for you as an author to be able to know how things work and you can probably use it as a business deduction as well.

We will be on kindle watch with you  ;D

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
I keep trying to justify getting the DX, using profession as a primary reason excuse. I mean, really, we DO need to optimize our works, right? If I could make it tax deductible, I'd be all over it...

·
Registered
13,767 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well Thumper on that little Virginia gig I have coming up for
No Irish Need Apply
, I'm getting
$ four figures
, so the devil made me buy the DX.

Ed P

·
Registered
11,848 Posts